Preview of the 2010 Legislative Session


On December 1, 2009, the Annapolis Forum is proud to present a preview of the 2010 Legislative Session, led by House of Delegates Speaker Michael E. Busch and Senate President Thomas V. “Mike” Miller. With a $2 billion deficit lurking in the background, the 2010 Legislative Session promises to be an exercise in fiscal creativity. What programs will face cuts? Will education be affected? How will Maryland raise more revenue in the face of mounting deficit difficulties? These questions and more will be answered between 7:00pm and 8:00pm in the Joint Hearing Room of the Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle – across from the State House. This event is open to the public and is the last free event sponsored by The Annapolis Forum in 2009.

To register, click here.


Michael Erin Busch, Speaker of House of Delegates

Michael E. Busch, 62, is the Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates. Busch has been a member of the House since 1987, representing Anne Arundel County and the city of Annapolis. Busch has been Speaker since the 2003 session. He attended St. Mary’s High School in Annapolis and in 1970 received his B.S. degree in education from Temple University. He is Co-Chair of the Legislative Policy Committee and a Member of the Rules and Executive Nominations Committee and the Spending Affordability Committee. Known for his even-handed leadership and his willingness to tackle complex issues, especially in the areas of health care, insurance and economic development, he has most recently led the effort to address the rising cost of medical malpractice insurance premiums that helped keep doctors practicing medicine in Maryland. He was voted Legislator of the Year by both the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce in 2005 and the Maryland State Medical Society (MedChi) in 2009.


Thomas V. "Mike" Miller Jr., President of Senate

Thomas V. “Mike” Miller, Jr., 66, is the President of the Maryland Senate, a position he began in 1987, the longest-service as president in Maryland’s history. He has been a state senator representing Calvert & Prince George’s Counties in the 27th District since 1975. He attended Surrattsville High School and earned both undergraduate (B.S. in Business Administration) and law degrees (LL.B., J.D.) from the University of Maryland (1964 and 1967, respectively). He is Co-Chair of the Legislative Policy Committee, including co-chair of the management subcommittee, the Senate Chair of the Investigation Committee, and a Member of the Rules Committee. He has been voted Outstanding Legislator by the Maryland Municipal League, awarded the William M. Bulger Excellence in State Legislative Leadership Award by the State Legislative Leaders Foundation and the John R. Hargreaves Distinguished Legislative Fellow Award by the Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement at Salisbury University, and recognized as Marylander of the Year by the Maryland Historical Society in 2007.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: